Skip to main content

How do I transfer a managed user to a new workstation - Kennisbank / ESET Endpoint Encryption - ESET Tech Center

How do I transfer a managed user to a new workstation

Authors list

This article will help guide you through the process of transferring a user from an old workstation to a new one.

It is important to note that DESlock+ on Windows is licenced by user.  This means a user can have multiple Windows computers e.g. their laptop and desktop licenced from a single DESlock+ Windows licence. For more information regarding licensing please read this article: KB250 - DESlock+ licensing

 

How to set-up the new workstation

In order to set-up the user on the new workstation please follow these steps:

Step 1.

  • Install DESlock+ on the new workstation

To do this please follow this article: KB253 - Installing a managed version of DESlock+

 

Step 2.

  • You must now activate the user on the new workstation. 

To do this please follow this article: KB216 - How do I activate a new client (Enterprise Server v2.5.2 or later)?

 

Step 3 (optional)

  • Encrypt the new workstation with Full Disk Encryption (FDE)

To do this please follow this article: KB101 - How to encrypt a hard drive using a managed version of DESlock+?

 

How to remove the old workstation (optional)

If the user is still going to be using the old machine, then you don't need to 'deactivate' DESlock+ due to the way that licensing works with DESlock+.

However, if the user is no longer going to use the old machine and you would like to remove DESlock+ from the workstation please refer to this article: KB248 - Removing DESlock+ from a workstation

If the workstation is going to be decommissioned, then you don't need to 'deactivate' the machine before destroying it. Once destroyed, you can delete the workstation for your Enterprise Server.

Helpful Unhelpful

Add a comment

Please log in or register to submit a comment.

Need a password reminder?