Skip to main content

Backing up the Enterprise Server, or migrating an Enterprise Server to a new host - Kennisbank / ESET Endpoint Encryption - ESET Tech Center

Backing up the Enterprise Server, or migrating an Enterprise Server to a new host

Authors list

The following article relates to using Enterprise Server version 2.6.1+

Enterprise Server Backup

The process of backing up an Enterprise Server is quite simple, and can be performed from the Database and Backup section of the Enterprise Server control panel. This will list details of your current database, including the version of SQL being used, the database size, and the date of the most recent backup. Note that this date comes from the database itself so, if you are using your own additional SQL backup, doesn't necessarily relate to the date the last backup was taken from this panel.

To take a backup, click the Create Backup Button

The backup can be saved to the Enterprise Server folder directly, or can be downloaded from the web browser, depending on the selection made.

Whichever backup is made, you should still ensure the backup file storage is sufficient to provide disaster recovery. There is no benefit to retaining an Enterprise Server backup on the Enterprise Server machine itself, if the machine fails and needs to be recovered!

You may optionally secure the backup with a password in which case it must be entered when you restore the backup.

Remote Backup

Please note that for security reasons, by default the downloading of the backup is disabled. 

This means if an attacker were able to gain remote access to the console interface there is no way for them to obtain a backup copy of the database.

However, if you are confident that remote access to the console is secure, then you can enable remote downloading by editing the config.cfg file in the Enterprise Server program files folder. Simply open the file, and add the line RemoteBackupDownload=true anywhere within the file. Then save the file.

 

Backup limitations

The current version of backup ignores the following data

  • Custom email templates and the custom template reference object are not included in the backup
  • Apache SSL settings are not included in the backup

 

Enterprise Server Restore

Important: If you are migrating from an existing Enterprise Server you should ensure that the original Enterprise Server is no longer running. Having two Enterprise Servers in existence using the same Proxy ID will cause a loss of update packets from the DESlock+ Cloud. You should stop and disable the DESlock+ Enterprise Server Console and DESlock+ Enterprise Server Service on the original server and ensure their Startup type is set to disabled.

Restoring an Enterprise Server is done via the setup wizard. Simply install the new version of the Enterprise Server as normal, but copy the backup file to the Enterprise Server folder before launching the setup wizard.

During the installation, the Enterprise Server folder will be created usually in the path as below:

C:\Program Files (x86)\DESlock+ Enterprise Server

This is where you should insert the esbackup.zip file generated from the original Enterprise Server you are attempting to move.

Once the installation is complete the following window will appear. At this point, insert the esbackup.zip file.

If this is done correctly, you should see the following page in the setup wizard.

If this window hasn't appeared, you should check that you have inserted the esbackup.zip file to the correct location, then press F5 to refresh the browser.

If you wish to restore from the backup file shown, then select the "Restore from this backup" option.

The wizard will then continue in restore mode, as shown below. In this mode, certain fields will be marked read only as they were set during the original installation of the Enterprise Server before the backup was made.

If the backup was created with a password. You will need to enter it as follows. If the password is validated, the restoration will continue.

THERE IS NO WAY TO COMPLETE THE RESTORE PROCESS IF THE BACKUP WAS MADE WITH A PASSWORD AND YOU DO NOT ENTER THE CORRECT PASSWORD.

 

 

Keywords: move migrate import export backing back up

Reactie toevoegen

Please log in or register to submit a comment.

Need a password reminder?