Skip to main content

Explanation of Enterprise Server user states - Kennisbank / ESET Endpoint Encryption - ESET Tech Center

Explanation of Enterprise Server user states

Authors list

Users within the Enterprise Server may be displayed with one of the following icons.

What follows is a description of each of these states, along with the actions required to transition the user to the next state or to an 'activated and up to date' state.

Unlicensed user icon User has no licence
    

This is the default state for a user record in the Enterprise Server. This is just a placeholder record. The user has no licence to use DESlock+, is not activated on any workstation, and cannot be managed by the Enterprise Server.

You must generate an activation code for this user, which the user should then use to activate DESlock+. Once activated, both the user and the workstation may be managed by the Enterprise Server.

 

Next Steps: Generate an activation code

 

Related Article: KB216 - How do I activate a new client (Enterprise Server v2.5.2 or later)?

Licensed user icon User is not active on any workstations
 

This user has a licence to use DESlock+, and they may have access to workstations protected by DESlock+ Full Disk Encryption. However currently they have not been activated on any workstation and as a result they are unable to use any granular encryption features in DESlock+, they will be unable to access any files protected by DESlock+, and you are unable to control their policies via the Enterprise Server.

 

Next Steps: Supply the activation code to the user, so they may activate DESlock+ on a workstation. Proxy Sync the Enterprise Server to obtain information about the workstation.

 

Related Articles:

KB216 - How do I activate a new client (Enterprise Server v2.5.2 or later)?

KB195 - How do I manually synchronise the Enterprise Server and DESlock+ client?

Activated user icon User is active
 

This user has a licence, and has activated at least one installation of DESlock+. In addition, the policies and encryption keys the user currently has match what the Enterprise Server displays. This user is 'activated and up to date', this is the recommended state for your users.

 

Next Steps: None

User with own keys icon User has additional keys
 

This user has a licence, and has activated at least one installation of DESlock+. This state is analogous to the green User is active state, with the exception that this user has encryption keys assigned to them directly. This means they may have encryption keys assigned in addition to encryption keys inherited from their parent team. In turn, this can mean that this user has additional keys to other users within the same team.

 

Next Steps: None

 

Related Article: KB163 - How do I create Encryption Keys and Encryption Key Groups and then assign them to a user?

User requires update icon User requires Key-File update
 

This user has a licence, and is activated on at least one workstation with DESlock+. However the polices on the Enterprise Server, or the encryption keys allocated to the user, are different than those currently on the users workstations. As a result, this user requires a Key-File posted to each of their activated workstations to reconcile the policies and encryption keys with the Enterprise Server.

 

Next Steps: Double check the encryption keys allocated to the user, and the policies of the team of which the user is a member. If these are correct, you should post a Key-File update to reconcile the user. If they polices are not correct, and you revert the change that caused the user to enter this state, they will revert automatically.

 

Related Article: KB277 - What to do when a users state is 'User requires an updated key-file'?

User update pending icon User has update pending
 

An update has been posted to this user, but the update has not yet been applied. This might be an update to reconcile policies, or it could be some other command to perform a function. The user must log on to the targeted workstation and either manually sync the client, or wait for the background timer to process the command. You can check the Updates panel to see what the update is, and to which workstation it has been targeted.

 

Next Steps: Ensure that the user logs into the workstation to which the update, or updates, have been targeted. Once the user has logged in and processed all outstanding commands, you may Proxy Sync the Enterprise Server to read the status of these commands.

 

Related Article: KB195 - How do I manually synchronise the Enterprise Server and DESlock+ client?

Orphaned user icon User has been orphaned from the directory server
 

This user was previously linked to an Active Directory account, but that account no longer exists. However, because the user was licensed, they are not removed from the Enterprise Server automatically.

If you no longer wish to retain the user's licence, then you may delete the user from the Enterprise Server which will return their licence to the originating licence pool. However, if you wish to retain the licence, you can convert the user to an 'activated and up to date' user by unlinking them from the Active Directory.

 

Next Steps: Either delete the user, or click the Unlink from Directory button to revert the users state.

 

Keywords: color, colour, icon, purple, orange, red, grey, blue, black, green

Reactie toevoegen

Please log in or register to submit a comment.

Need a password reminder?